top of page

Interior Design Studio I: A Place for Meditation

Created in Fall Semester 2018

For my final project for my first semester, we were assigned to create a space for any activity of our choosing. The space was created by using three metal shipping containers. I decided that I wanted to create a space for meditation, by using glass walls for lighting and small garden courtyards.

The way that I designed the space was the branching of the crate. In each crate, the forms start as a solid and branch out into multiple forms. By intersecting form in this way, I have created a space for a courtyard.

For a colorway, I was inspired by an art piece by Guy Denning. His piece reminded me of meditation because of the way he left the drawing unfinished at the top of the figures head. To me, it represents expanding the mind which is practiced in meditation. Out of the color of the art, I extracted a color and upped the saturation creating a violet color. This made my color scheme orange, green, and violet. Also known as the secondary colors.

With the design concept, natural lighting, and color scheme created, I made my floor plan and reflected ceiling plan. Below you can see the floor plan with exploded elevations displaying what each wall looks like. The blue areas represent the glass courtyards and walls. Meanwhile the light orange and violet represent the textured walls. The dark violet shows the dark tiling for the floor.

The reflected ceiling plan shows some of the ceiling cuts for the glass skylights and small pendent lights.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page